Patron for The Northern Rivers Rail Trail

Robert “Robbie” McEwen AM

Robert “Robbie” McEwen AM (born 24 June 1972 in Brisbane), is a former professional road bike racer. As a triple winner of the Points Classification in the Tour de France, at his peak he was arguably the fastest sprinter in the world.

A former Australian BMX champion, Robbie switched to road racing in 1990 at 18. He raced as a professional from 1996 until 2012. Robbie now lives on the Gold Coast with his Belgian wife Angélique Pattyn, his son Ewan, and hisdaughters Elena and Claudia. In 2011 he published an autobiography – “One Way Road”. He retired from the World Tour after riding the 2012 Tour of California.

Joining former deputy prime minister Doug Anthony as a patron of the NRRT, Mr McEwen believed the rail trail would be a huge attraction to the region.

“I’ve spent many hours training on the roads of the Northern Rivers and I did quite a bit of racing with the Murwillumbah Cycle Club, so I know how spectacular that area is,” Mr McEwen said.

“Not only are there many cyclists looking for new and interesting places to ride, there are many more people who would like to ride but don’t feel safe on the roads.

If you give people a place to ride and walk, they will come!

There are so many benefits it would bring, I certainly didn’t need to be asked twice to get involved.”

The Northern Rivers Rail Trail Inc  Board Members


Pat Grier AM President
Cameron Arnold Vice President and Tourism industry rep
Geoff Meers Secretary
Marie Lawton Treasurer & Supporter Liaison rep
Suyin Kershaw Media

Members and Local Government Representatives

Sol Ibrahim Community rep
Iain Lonsdale Director of Engineering and Operations, Tweed Shire Council
Barry Longland Community rep
Glenys Ritchie Community rep
Jenny Dowell Community rep

Ex-officio Members

Martin Brook Chair Food industry Committee
Patrick Knight Chairman of Design and Infrastructure Group
Norman Case Chairman of Design and Infrastructure Group
Lisa White Design and Infrastructure Group
Duncan Gibbs Design and Infrastructure Group
Andreas Wagner Matthew Dokter
Greg Byrnes Web Content